When I think of courage, I think of my friend M.  When I first met her she was a happily married woman with five beautiful children and a nice home, living what looked like the suburban dream. 
 
A couple of years later she had six children, was pregnant with the seventh, and had just lost her beloved mother to cancer.  And then her husband left her for the woman he'd been having an affair with for a couple of years.
 
These things happen.  They happened to her.  She fought hard for her marriage, hard for her family, and she lost. 
 
He quit his job and put his assets in his new partner's name so he didn't have to pay maintenance for his children.  He never paid a cent, despite being ordered to by the courts.
 
M. brought up seven children on her own.  She got up early, she went to bed late.  She put her creativity on hold, she worked as many jobs as she needed to.  She got sick.  She kept going.  She made good nutritious meals out of next to nothing, and she accepted charity with grace when every fibre of her being rebelled against it. She made her home a loving, welcoming place.  She got out of bed day after day after day when she was sick with grief and exhaustion and she did what needed to be done.
 
She has made heroic efforts to allow her children to have a positive relationship with their father.  She spent Christmas on her own every second year.  She never denigrated him to them, and she grit her teeth and attended school functions with him for her children's sake.  She negotiates with her ex-husband's new partner to make sure her children are cared for when they are at his house.  She feels sick and shaky and often cries when she puts the phone down, but she does it and she does it with grace and courtesy.
 
She has done this, suffering from depression and poverty and illness for more than 10 years now.  Her older children are out in the world and starting to understand her sacrifices.  Her younger children are still heedless and demanding.  Every one of those children has been clothed and fed and cared for and loved.  And every day M. gets up and does it again. 
 
I hope that I can help her to hang on, so that one day she will have the time and energy to write and paint, and make the children's books that have been burbling away inside her for a long, long time.  Because they're going to be very good and that courage and integrity is going to make them the books you'll want to buy for your children and your friends' children and children you've never met.


(name withheld by request).

2/26/2010 10:09:52 am

That's truly phenomenal courage. And one very special woman. I don't think there are many with that kind of heart.

Reply
Tanya
2/28/2010 12:14:33 am

I agree -- for THAT kind of heart is truly selfless and generous. I hope she gets to make some kind of art soon here one way or another....even if it's small and noticeable only to her.

As for the other thing -- I'm not sure any man who hides his assets in order to not pay child support actually deserves to see his children. So, I have to hand it to YOU for not coming up with unique and new expletives to describe him.

You can see I would be absolutely NO form of postive help to her at all... ;-)

Seriously -- what a wonderful friend YOU are to support and love and stay through this with M., even when you must feel like saying very bad things about the ex-husband. You are amazing, too.

And I am convincted by this story to not ignore any dead-beat dads who might be in my circle -- to not just tell myself it's none of my business -- but to stand up gently for the children and ex-wives left behind. I think I can do at least that for your sweet friend M.

:-)

Reply
ashbee
2/28/2010 11:06:57 pm

My heart goes out to this woman - I did the same for two children so to give so much of herself for eight is amazing. Parents who walk away take the easy option. To carry out your obligations and fulfill your responsibilities despite EVERYTHING is a true act of love. She deserves something wonderful, doesn't she!!!

Reply
3/1/2010 09:50:34 am

Wow. I am amazed, and inspired. I hope I would have that kind of courage and perseverance.

This coming Mothers' Day, I'll be thinking of Remarkable M..

Reply
Kay
3/2/2010 05:14:49 pm

What a beautiful story.. thanks for sharing it

Reply
Jacquelyn
3/15/2010 01:48:42 am

M's life is the true personification of a mother's love, courage, and perseverance.

Reply
3/25/2010 01:30:29 pm

Certainly a wonderful courageous friend. I only hope her children reward her by appreciating her dedication when they are older...you get many good mothers but you'd go far to get extraordinary one like her...

Reply
tracey
4/3/2010 02:20:39 pm

What a beautiful, inspiring story. Thank you for letting us know there are people like your friend M.

Reply



Leave a Reply.